top of page
  • Writer's pictureClara

A Poem for Someone I had a Dream Came Back

Remember, we deal with alcohol. Cunning. Baffling. Powerful.

While I normally am not a poet, I had a few lines pop into my head the other morning and really felt inspired to write them down. I miss you butterfly.

 

That Feeling

I thought of you today

as I took the cotton from the medicine bottle

and I remembered how you hate

That feeling

Trees grow a ring each year

they are alive

21 rings on your tree

That feeling

Why were you cut down so soon?

My heart hangs

I mourn

That feeling

A willow tree sways in the breeze

it reminds me of childhood

of new growth

That feeling

We sat smoking cigarettes until we were sick

up past curfew, dizzy

That feeling

I threw up

and you laughed

world spinning

That feeling

My great grandparents had one of your trees in their yard

I grew up blowing bubbles

in her

That feeling

I watched you grow

and shrivel

as winter came

That feeling

Cold shock

shivers, a text

silence

That feeling

I dreamt of you last night

I cried

on your shoulder

That feeling

I opened my meds today

to take them like you couldn't

and felt the cotton

That feeling

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ego vs. Self Esteem

My whole life, I had thought that because I had low self-esteem I had a small ego. Turns out I was very wrong. They are not the same. I've never really thought highly of myself, and yet at the same ti

Pursuit of Happiness

I feel like I'm always in pursuit of the next best thing. I'm never satisfied. I can't sit in a situation and just accept it for what it is, enjoy the moment as it presents itself. There's always some

bottom of page